I have been through the darkest time of my life

Change hurts

“We find it’s hard to change, but that’s because we start from a root idea that is false. We look for stability, thinking that it will give us safety and happiness, when life is actually unstable and ever changing. We try to control the uncontrollable, we want to set the brakes against dizzying change, we try to construct parapets that will protect us from what cannot be controlled, and along the way we pay a high price: we waste our energy and we feel insecure and weak. That’s why, until we accept that the only reliable thing, the only thing we can build healthy life on, is change, we won’t be able to feel strong and safe.”

The quote above is cited from a book called ‘Kintsugi: The Japanese Art of Embracing the Imperfect and loving your flaws’ by Tomas Navarro. I will never read that kind of self-help book, especially with such a title. I only read that quote, thanks to a random picture (of the book translated into Vietnamese) I saw somewhere on the Internet.

That only quote explains why I’m feeling that bad every day. I’m facing a very big change in my life, quitting France to come back to Vietnam, and don’t know what I’m gonna do, what job I’m gonna take. I’m too afraid of insecurity, of losing everything I have built. How’s funny that I’m now afraid that I cannot survive in my own country =)). Especially when people keep telling me: to be able to live in Vietnam, you need to be this, be that…

I suffer every day and I know that. Anxiety is beating me down.

I seriously don’t know what to do, except accept that I’m embracing my suffering. Do you believe that people can still suffer even though nothing that seems terrible is happening to them? Looking on the bright side, I earned enough money to live well while figuring out what I want to do next, I can get support from my family, boyfriend and even close friends if I want. But this is also controversial, people tend to hide their weaknesses in front of others, any other, it’s actually natural as human beings. And me, I always hope to be independent.

“We have a natural tendency to want to run away from suffering. But without any suffering, we can’t fully develop as human beings. Suffering is very important. We have to learn to recognize and even embrace suffering, as our awareness of it helps us grow.

We have to be able to smile to our suffering, with peace, just as we smile to the mud because we know that’s only when we had mud (and know how to make good use of the mud) that we can grow lotus flowers.”

– Thich Nhat Hanh –

I get angry easily with others, without any reason and I hate myself for that. I’m stuck in this infinite circle: get angry -> feel guilty about getting angry -> try to push people away and hold everything inside -> suffer more.

I have lost all of my interests

Living is hard and I wish somebody shows me a reason why life is beautiful and worth living. What I see is always struggling, always thinking, always having many choices and decisions to be made. But once all those things stop, it means that life ends.

Losing all of my interests is the worst thing I’ve ever experienced.

  • I don’t feel fully happy, the maximum level of happiness I can feel is only 50%.
  • Somedays, I spend half of the day in bed until I feel better, get some food and start to do something.
  • I’m a travel lover and I don’t travel even when I have all the freedom in the world to do that.
  • I don’t read books, I just read a few pages of different books and leave them there.
  • I gradually write less. I finally sit down and write this article after letting a thousand of thoughts run around my head for so many days.
  • It has been 1 month and a half since I promise myself to draw a watercolor card for my best friend and I still don’t touch the brush and the color palette.
  • Nature is my life. And now I feel nearly indifferent seeing beautiful flowers blooming and fresh green leaves in springtime. A sunny day barely cheers me up.
  • I have a list of places to visit and a list of coffee shops to go to and chill. But I don’t feel that joyful when I visit those places.

The only thing I still enjoy is watching kdrama (in fact, I watched Alchemy of Souls and it’s pretty good ahaha, I recommend!).

I admire my parents

Like any child, I had some time of conflicts with my parents. But right now, I admire them so much. When they were the same age as me now, I’m pretty sure that they didn’t get as much money, they couldn’t get any support from my grandparents. But they have overcome it all, raised me well (LOL I’m not a brilliant person but I know at least I’m still a good one, I don’t commit any crime and I treat people well) and love me even though they are not perfect parents. They overcame it all and keep living looking and moving forward.

I admire them because their daughter cannot be as strong. She is nearly 30 and she already wants to give everything up. I never think that I will not have children, but I’m never ready to make it happen. I don’t know how I can take care of a kid while I’m struggling day by day like this.

There’s still some light in this darkness.

Well, there is actually a fun story. I have just landed my freelance career and have a chance to work with this client. She is a journalist – Ted talk speaker – book author – and professor at Science Po (an elite institution). A chance that is hard to be true! It’s like I’m given a private and free lesson about journalism, I discover fascinating insights. Maybe that’s one in a million of examples why there’s always something to look for in life and its unexpected aspect is actually not that awful.

8 thoughts on “I have been through the darkest time of my life

  1. Có một câu mình đọc được trong một cuốn sách khá hay có tựa “Làm chủ sự thay đổi” (Life is in the transitions):

    “Chúng ta vốn đã được dạy rằng cuộc đời mình sẽ diễn ra theo những chương đoạn có thể đoán trước, cho nên ta cảm thấy bối rối khi những chương đoạn ấy xảy đến ngày càng nhanh hơn, không theo thứ tự và thường là nối tiếp nhau không dừng. Tất cả chúng ta đều là những đám mây lơ lửng phía chân trời, là vòng xoáy của lớp kem trong tách cà phê, là tia chớp rạch ngang bầu trời. Không có đám mây, lớp kem hay tia chớp nào là giống nhau. Cuộc đời chúng ta không vì thế mà trở nên khác thường, mà đó là trạng thái thường thấy trong cuộc đời.”

    Có lẽ bạn đang bị down mood và hơi sốc văn hóa lẫn môi trường khi trở về VN sau một thời gian dài sống ở nước, và bạn cần sự thích nghi dần dần. Anw, hãy tin rằng bạn có rất nhiều lợi thế hơn so với các bạn trong nước. Be confident about what you own and just be yourself ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cảm ơn lời động viên của bạn nhé. Mình mới sắp về thôi mà đã down thế này rồi, tại cứ nghĩ ngợi ko ngừng là nên về hay là không. Sắp tới về thật rồi thì chưa biết sẽ thế nào. Tóm lại là không biết trước được điều gì ;))

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ôi, đọc xong mới thấy đúng những điều mình trải qua trong suốt ba tháng qua khi đứng giữa ngã ba đường, quyết định ở lại, về, hay không làm gì cả mà chỉ ngủ cho qua ngày tháng để trốn chạy việc quyết định.
    Con người có đầy nỗi sợ hãi, nhưng ít ai nói ra hoặc viết ra, có lẽ không nói ra lại là điều tốt vì ta sẽ chế ngự nó và rồi nó cũng sẽ trôi qua? Nhưng mình nghĩ là thừa nhận những nỗi sợ của bản thân cũng là một điều dũng cảm.
    Rồi tụi mình sẽ trưởng thành hơn thôi, mỗi một lần thay đổi, là một lần khó khăn nhưng we all grow up from there, nhỉ.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Blog của mình không anonymous, đâu đó có thể có người quen của mình vô đọc nên khi viết mình cũng tiết chế kha khá rồi 😉 . Bình thường với mọi người mình vẫn act cool and act normal, chắc chỉ với bạn ny (and a bit on WP) là show my fear thôi á. Anw, I wish you all the best nhé!! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow , sao giờ tớ mới phát hiện blog này của H nhỉ? Phải kết bạn trên WP mới được he he.

    Tớ thấy bản thân mình ở nhiều khoảnh khắc khi đọc bài blog này của cậu. Cả những suy nghĩ về chuyện đi hay ở, chuyện lập gia đình với có con, trạng thái down mood nữa. Cậu còn ở Paris không? Nếu có thì tháng 6 mình gặp nhau 1 buổi catch up trước khi cậu về nha?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Huhuhu đọc tớ thấy đồng cảm với cậu lắm. Sending the BIGGEST /virtual/ HUGS. Vài năm trước khi tớ mất hết sở thích đọc, viết, nghe nhạc tớ cảm thấy đó là lowest point in my life 😦 Brighter days are awaiting in front of you~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Discover more from travelling poisson

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started